Student Honors: Studio Master Class May 2022

Friday, May 27, 2022 | Student Awards and Honors

On May 15, 2022, we were lucky to host the fabulous Dr. Paulo Steinberg of James Madison University for our second and final Guest Artist Masterclass of the 2022 school year. Congratulations to the students who stepped up to perform and learn with us!

Hannah Boesen (Invention in a minor, Bach) ♪ Ai-Lan Pho (Waltz in c-sharp minor, Chopin) ♪ Kavya Thyagarajan (Courante from French Suite No. 2, Bach) ♪ Aruni Veluri (Sonatina for the Young Op. 118 No. 1, Schumann) ♪ Owen Rollins (Liebestraum No. 3, Liszt)

Student Honors: Sonata Festivals 2022

Friday, May 27, 2022 | Student Awards and Honors

On May 14 2022 Springfield Music Club held a Sonata/Sonatina Festival. And on May 22 2022 Northern Virginia Music Teachers Association did the same! In these events, students performed two contrasting movements from a sonata or sonatina. The following students received the top rating: Alexa Garcia • Aruni Veluri • Varun Veluri • Hannah Wang.

Memorial Day Break 2022

Tuesday, May 17, 2022 | News

The Studio will be closed for Memorial Day Break all weekend from Friday May 27 through and including Monday May 30. The Studio re-opens on our usual school-year schedule Tuesday May 31. 

Student Honors: NFMC Spring Festival 2022

Sunday, May 1, 2022 | Student Awards and Honors

Each year, the National Federation of Music Clubs hosts a Spring Festival. Nationwide, this event reaches approximately 100,000 students! Locally, this event is sponsored and run by Springfield Music Club. Students prepare two contrasting pieces and perform them from memory for a small audience. Students receive constructive written feedback on their performance and a rating. The following students earned the top rating of Superior. 

Sebastian Annett ♪ Juliet Barrett ♪ Sarah Hellman ♪ Noa Herzog Owen Horgan ♪ Liam Horgan ♪ Helena Horowitz ♪ Stephen McElvain ♪ Keshavan Nair ♪ Lindsay Nguyen ♪ Gizem Onerci ♪ Seth Peleg ♪ Ryan Qi ♪ Eliana Rougle ♪ Pelin Sarac ♪ Lucia Severino ♪ Anne Severino ♪ Karthik Thyagarajan ♪ Elena Valdez-Torres ♪ Aruni Veluri ♪ Ethan Williams ♪ Alex Xu